springlilly

By springlilly

Catch up

At last I managed to visit Hazel. When I first met her (she was wearing dark glasses due to an eye condition, which I found off putting) she walked The Argory on her own & I said hello to her a few times, then at times I let her know when Inca & I would be walking & she walked part if not all of the way, with us, but gradually she has become less mobile & didn’t want to hold us back. I remember being shocked taken aback, when she told me that some days she didn’t speak to anyone at all.
The great thing is, she now has a busier social life than ever before, but she has to manage her energy levels when not out accompanying her (almost 89 year old) friend John (a widower & father of my friend Moira B) to lunch all over the place, her arthritis means she needs rest in between times, so we haven’t had our Friday evening get together since the spring. Inca was of course delighted to visit we had a catch up & few good laughs. As I was leaving, I reminded her it is all thanks to Inca that she now has such a busy social life, as Moira B spoke to Inca & I & in turn I introduced Hazel to her & she introduced Hazel to her father & now they have great companionship.
I love a happy story :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.