Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets Santa

It seems that Archie was right to be somewhat skeptical about the Wonder Mice Buster… many of you have a tried this with varying results, not all of them successful…

JR even said this morning, ‘Maybe we should get a kitten…’

This is a silly idea because:
a) JR is allergic to cat fur, so it would have to be one of those bald cats
b) as seascapes points out - cats are not always the solution - some are useless mousers.

We'll give the plug-in gizmo a go, and I will also seal round all skirting boards, which will be miles! I’ve been meaning to do this for a year because of draughts. It’s now imperative.

With this, and other things in mind, we set off for an out of town shopping centre. We took Archie, reasoning that he’d rather come with us than stay in the house on his own. He doesn’t mind sitting waiting in the car - he doesn’t make a fuss. But he was sick. Sick bag at the ready, of course.

We bought a DVD player, but I’m thinking we might keep the new DVDs for the holidays when there’s too much schmaltzy stuff on TV.

We passed Santa on the way there, but on the way back I couldn’t go past him. Especially as I wanted a chopping block and I knew they had them.

Three likely looking lads were hovering around a lovely big pile of Christmas tree stands chopping blocks.

‘How much?’

‘£10, dear. But they’re very heavy.’

‘£10 and you carry it to my car…’


The youngest chap carried it for me.

Archie looks a wee bit terrified of this strange man with cotton wool stuck to his face… But I did chuckle, as he seems to be holding his hands front paws like those footballers in front of a penalty kicker - protecting his sore bits from our eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.