Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chop chop!

Archie's favourite place for a morning doze on the bed is on my pillow, and he wiggles his way up in no time. But this morning he lay on my shoulder, with his head across my neck. While it did keep my neck warm, it slightly restricted my breathing/movement. You don't think he's spoilt, do you? (No, don't answer that...)

We chose to go for our morning walk just as sleet began to fall. Not pleasant. But the day has been lovely since then, so in a fit of enthusiasm after a treat lunch (crumble and custard that we couldn't manage last night) I decided to try out my new chopping block. Jings it was heavy! Well worth that £10 for the chap to carry it to the car for me.

I was well pleased, because although I didn't hold much hope of being able to split the big blocks of wood, to my surprise, I did! I just need to split the end of the wedge off, so it's the narrow bit I'm (sort of) aiming for. Flushed with success, I chopped and chopped more and more. It was fun - though I can't see me doing it when I'm a really old biddy!

Then I got the axe well and truly stuck and could do no more. I put it away in the shed, with the attached log, to await a passing man, possibly the young chap upstairs.

Mouse Report: A live mouse has not been seen for a day and a half. A dead one was found last night, in an incident just too horrific to relate here. I still shudder. But I think I will get some quotes from the professional folk this week.

The fire's on, there's a wee bit left in the wine bottle from last night, and we'll continue with the next four episodes of Glue, a series that was on TV ages ago. They keep having ads for the Scottish Referendum, which seems a very long time ago.

Archie looks a wee bit nervous sitting on the chopping block. Too soon for jokes about chopping bits off?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.