Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chuffed!

Rang the council first thing this morning to ask their advice about pest control. They will visit, at a cost of £87, show you where the little blighters are getting in, put poison down and come back two more times. The poison, apparently, will not affect a dog. But the mice will die and a dog could find one... Hmmmm. Not ideal. Besides, I can see where the little blighters are getting in perfectly well myself.

But we haven't seen a live mouse, or any evidence of mice, since the gizmo was plugged in...So without speaking too soon... maybe it has worked!! I think we'll give it a good go first. I'm not really too enthused about the council suggestion. So I set to and filled in round the skirting board in the lounge.

Archie went for his post-op exam and his nine month check. This will be the only free visit in his life! He passed both with flying colours.

While JR took him to the vet, I ventured into town to see the lights. I could have bought an almost undrinkable mulled wine, but thought the Big Wheel was better value at £6 this year.

I was in with three other ladies who were definitely getting in the mood - they'd already been on that big swinging scary thing!

We were told not to stand up, but of course, to take photos, I had to. The young man at the gate signalled me to SIT DOWN! as we came round the bottom. So I just sat when we came past him. The ladies commented on my blatant disregard of the rules.

One of the ladies asked,
'Were you a teacher?'
'Yes. Why?'
'I recognise them a mile off - Do as I say, not as I do...'

They were all ex-teachers too.

As we came to a stop she said,
'Wonder why that policeman's there...’

However, a combination of dirty windows on the Big Wheel pod, not the right light, a cute wee excited skater, and orange skates made me choose this one to share this evening.

I'm still chuffed about the free vet visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.