All Aboard the Birthday Express!

Today is my birthday and it dawn bright and very frosty. I deiced my car while my parents had breakfast and I set off for Burbage Common as I knew that there was a steam express excursion from Birmingham to Lincoln for the Christmas Markets due to pass by at about 9am. I got parked up and walked across the fields the foot-crossing in cool crisp sunlight.

I bagged my spot and waited, and sure enough the train pulled by Rood Ashton Hall thundered by. It was a great spot top watch the train as it was on a long piece of straight track, and it was moving a decent speed.

After bagging my blip for the day I returned home and picked Mum and Dad up and we went for a walk in Swithland Woods and Bradgate Park. There was a Festive Market which we looked around and we were so nearly tempted by the Penguin Pie and the Wild Beaver Pies on one of the stalls. It was a lovely walk in winter sunshine.

This evening we're going to see the fabulous Bootleg Beatles at De Montfort Hall, so I'm really looking forward to that. Better go get the jazzy shirt on now.

Catch you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.