PJG844

By PJG844

Back At The Chicken Shack

We were thinking of popping down to Stornoway today as the new ferry, the MV Loch Seaforth, was making a 'visit' but I thought “nah, someone else will post a picture on Blip” (don't let me down, Mr R.). I did watch the video on the local news site and it was just as I thought it would be as it arrived at Stornoway Bay. The ship came in and it was as if it was saying “Hello, boys. Do you like me? I'm all new, shiny and my curves are to die for. Do you like the way my bow thrusts through the waves? Do you? Would you like to get on me and use my new seating, untouched by any man? You would? Oh, what a shame, you don't deserve me” and it immediately flounced off back across the Minch. Admittedly it was only here “as part of crew familiarisation exercises.” but it couldn't dock anyway as they haven't completed the 33 metre extension of the ferry berthing pier. Oh, what larks.

Spent most of the day dealing with a PC problem for my neighbour so I decided to update my list of things to do in the byre. The pic above is another project I want to do but is low on the list. The smaller structure used to be a chicken house and that's what I intend to make it again. OK, the roof's gone, the door frame is rotted, the window is so-so but the structural part is OK and just to the left of the window, near the ground, is the door for the chickens. So. A bit of paint, a few throw cushions and curtains, good as new.

As the title of this Blip is a Jimmy Smith track I had the urge to dig out another of my favourite albums (how many favourites can you have? You can only have one, really. No matter), Jimmy Smith with the Oliver Nelson Orchestra with their version of Peter and the Wolf. Fab. Currently playing a track from it, Elegy For Duck. Nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.