Good Samaritan

Just shows there are still some good hearted friends around! For weeks it has been a daily routine — sweeping or raking leaves from the grass at home, from around the front and back doors, and from the drive, and then a trip to the household recycling depot to dump them.

Now, I think we are nearing the end of them. They are still falling and some days it is still like tons of brown confetti falling on the garden, but the number is reducing. Some mornings when I look out there appears to be only a smattering have fallen overnight.

But I still had a big pile just by the garage, which after the rain of last week were still very wet, and so were my last to clear. They had been there now for well over a week since I last cleared them, and I have been adding to the pile daily. It would take me another two trips to the tip at least to clear them.

Then proof that miracles still happen; that we still have a few friends who have shown themselves to be Good Samaritans.

When I drew back the curtains today on a very crisp and frosty morning, the leaves had all been scooped up and bagged. I did not see or hear anyone outside before I got up, apart from the morning paper being popped through the door.

I can only make a guess as to who might have been this kindly and thoughtful. What can I say?

Apart from ‘Thank You.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.