Moules Mariniere

First Sunday of the month again, and that means Farmers’ Market and for us a change from Sunday roast.
Tomato salad with French grown shallots, baked potato in its jacket and dipping into moules mariniere and the occasional nibble of winkles on a pin for me while Jill made do with grilled lobster sauted in brandy and butter, with a few moules.
To be honest, not all of it came from the market, but it was my visit to the first Sunday of the month event held in one of Romsey town’s central car parks earlier in the day which inspired the idea.
For a start, one thing I did forget was a baguette and that meant a last minute call to the village convenience store for a part baked baguette. After all, whoever could possibly enjoy moules without a baguette to accompany it.
I remember years ago visiting a restaurant which attempted to palm me off with quarters of sliced bread!  Whatever next? I went off that restaurant very quickly. In much the same way that another French restaurant served fromage straight from the fridge.  It didn’t take long for me to lose interest in that place either.
But the moules this evening were magnificent. Cooked at home, of course in wine with shallot and garlic. A kilo of them all to myself. 
 
Vive la France and its gourmet  menus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.