Picture this..

By northernlass261

Project!

On Friday night I was invited by a new Spanish friend to attend a meeting of the Ladies Association, of which I am a member. Most of the ladies are Spanish, as you would expect, so the conversation is a little stilted most of the time!. I was led to believe that we were reading a book (not sure how I would manage that!).
However, we were to watch a film about women in prison under Franco's rule. The film was about a young woman who was pregnant and of course in prison because she was against the regime. Anyway she ended up getting shot and her child given to her sister.
I did get the gist of it and of course it was tearful at the end. Friday was Constitution Day!
It transpired then that I had joined a Book Club and we were given a book to read and then discuss in the New Year. Hence the blip. The theme is obviously courageous women.
My Spanish is not the best, so I have bought an English version of the Book and intend to read a chapter in English and then the same one in Spanish. Hopefully as I get into the story I will be able to reverse this. I think I must be mad!!
Monday is the Day of the Immaculate Conception, so hope fully will have something to blip about tomorrow on that.
Been writing more Christmas Cards - nearly done.
We're have Wild Boar casserole tonight. Taking advantage of the different things on offer for the festive season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.