SarahClem

By SC26

Spotted

What a great start to the day! I've heard people talk of seals in the river, but have never been lucky enough to see one...until this morning, when I woke up, looked out the window, to see this guy sunbathing on the mud right outside our flat! I raced down, but he hung around for ages; stretching, yawning and basking in the sun. I hope he or she returns soon!

It was such a beautiful crisp day, so G and I pulled on our walking boots, hiked a few miles and spent a few hours exploring some local woods that we've somehow not visited before. The colours in the sunshine were beautiful. The lure of a shandy on the quay when we got back was too strong...a pint always tastes better in the sunshine.

Ahead of a late night, I had a rare afternoon nap (helped by the shandy), before we head into town for dinner and drinks with some friends, followed by a house party. I must be getting old, as I was ready for bed by 2am; we bowed out whilst the mulled wine was still flowing and the others were still going strong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.