Traditional Swedish Saffron Buns

I baked some sourdough saffron buns yesterday. It was the first time I'd made a soft sweet bread using sourdough. The result was very "interesting" and I liked it and Jan wasn't so sure. As the name suggests sourdough is sour, adding sugar, butter and milk to the mix makes it sweet, so the end result is a sort of sweet and sour bread. Perhaps an acquired taste...
Anyway, today Jan decided it was her turn to bake and being more ambitious and experienced than me she baked normal sourdough bread, mince pies, and normal saffron buns. Here you can see the buns rising before raisins are added, egg painted across the tops and baking.
Jan blipped the finished result, just before I starting eating the results!
In Swedish these are called "Lussekatter", Lucia cats, and are baked on St Lucia's day so we are a few days early as St Lucia is on the 13th December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.