todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Making an impression...

I've only spent two days in Dubai and yet, it's made a lasting impression.

Nothing more so that the icon, the talisman, the towering embodiment of Dubai itself the Burj Khalifa

The word skyscraper was surely invented to describe this breathtaking structure. Dwarfing everything it surveys, it is the highest building in the world - by far.

Taking the lift to floor 124 of 160 odd, I was able to scan the whole of Dubai and beyond, most of which didn't exist a mere 13 years ago.

An impressive poem carved into stone at the foot of the building, embodies what Burj Khalifa means to Dubai.

"I am the power that lifts the world's head proudly skywards. I am Burj Khalifa."

As I ponder the controversial bigger picture - the culture, the traditions, the way of life - I am still left with a feeling of complete awe.

This city, these surroundings, this tower, have to be seen to be believed.

Today outof10? A breathtaking 10 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.