Ups and Downs

All of the drama around here today centered again on the rain. More specifically, the water levels. This was our pond this morning at its highest. It was about 4-5 feet (1.2 - 1.5 meters) above normal. Here's a similar back-door shot for reference. The fence and gate we could see yesterday was submerged. Our region as received between 8 and 10 inches of rain in the past two days.

My daughter's school was canceled due to flooding, and we spent much of the day going up and down the basement steps looking for any water. We are fortunate that we're high enough and the basement is dry. My next door neighbors weren't as lucky. The fire department has been over there three times today pumping out the basement.

The pond has gone down about a foot or so since this morning. My husband is finally back from pumping basements all evening. My daughter is snuggled up in her bed. And I'm feeling a little sense of relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.