Cyclamen in winter

I'm amazed at this potted cyclamen which flowered in spring and spent the summer in a shady spot on the patio. When I brought it in a couple of months ago I found a big fat caterpillar munching through the leaves. Having dispensed with this pest it began to throw out new buds and leaves, and today provides an indoor blip as the "weather bomb" or explosive cyclogenesis from the North Atlantic has arrived - a river of wind up in the atmosphere at around 30,000ft. This is now bringing us strong gales with gusts up to 80 mph. I'm no hero so outdoor photography is a no-no as far as I'm concerned.

I have used a very gentle focal zoom to soften the base to complement the top which picks up the bleak outdoors and the vague tracery of a winter tree. Cyclamen are such delightful perennials providing colour when little else is flowering in winter. And it gladdens the heart on a day like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.