rachelhannahpreston

By rachelhpreston

Condors in the Colca Canyon

This morning had a rather unfortunate start at 3am, after Tim's alpaca steak the night before decided to revisit him. Alpacas and Llamas have something against my brother and I. When I was 3 a llama at a petting zoo spat in my ear. Ever since I have had a slight fear of them, and am convinced they are all evil. I thought alpacas might be friendlier - but perhaps not!
Our itinerary for the day started off with a special festival in the village (we reckon this was actually a daily 'special festival' put on to attract tourists!) which involved all sorts of dancing, music and fancy costumes. We then jumped on the bus which took us up to a viewpoint over the Colca Canyon to watch the condors. The canyon claims to be one of the deepest in the world, reaching down 1200m at the point we stopped. We were lucky enough to watch 3 condors circling, swooping and perching for about an hour. One of those occasions where you take 500 pictures and end up with about 5 good ones! Amazingly majestic birds to watch, absolutely huge but so graceful.
In the afternoon we went for a walk from our hotel to some nearby thermal baths. Beautiful place next to a river in among the mountains. Only downside was the HUGE rickety horrible nightmare of a bridge we had to cross to get there. My fear of such bridges is infinitely worse than my fear of llamas, and normally my dad and brother like to wind me up by bouncing on the bridge as I'm crossing. But they were very nice today and did not do this. Either that or it was out of fear the bridge might actually give way if they did...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.