Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A city of bicycles

This morning there was the best sunrise I have seen in a long time. It's pink glow was bouncing off the sitting room windows and I could not avoid noticing how beautiful it was.. But did I get a photo? No, I was busy cooking a chicken curry for tonight's supper as I knew I would be getting back late and wanted supper to be ready by the time I got home.

Adam and I had an easy drive to Cambridge this morning, though two traffic diversions meant we got to see more small Cambridgeshire villages than we should have, with 30 miles per hour speed limits!

We arrived in time for an early lunch and found a Pizza Express. It was full of interview candidates and their parents! Adam saw a girl he met on his summer course at Bath University, also applying for the same course but at a different college. We walked around a bit after lunch but it was so freezing cold (4C) that I deposited Adam in a Costa Coffee cafe where he could stay warm while going over his notes, while I tried to get some photos. However I was too cold to wander around for too long and my mind was not on seeing lovely images, so I came back to join Adam for a coffee. I could spot the school kids there for interviews quite easily, either one or both parents hovering anxiously outside the colleges as they came out, some in suits which was a dead give away (Adam was told to dress smart casual, no suit)

I then took him to the college for his interviews and waited in the car outside, too anxious to do much else. He felt that his interviews went rather well, in fact he was a little frustrated that they did not let him expand more in his answers to show off his knowledge. The interviews were totally academic, about various topics in Biology and Chemistry and he was shown slides and had to discuss them. No personal questions were asked and nothing about his interests or similar - it was really like an oral academic exam.

Oh well, it is now in the hands of the Gods tutors. He is a very bright and able boy who could do so well at Cambridge. He has worked so hard to get this far and produced stellar exam results in the summer but you don't always get what you want in life, do you? What will be will be. We have an anxious wait until early January to hear the outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.