boldsans

By rubyjones

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

This year, I don't care if it snows and trains and planes are cancelled.
Because I'll be here. No travelling. Lovely.

Remember the snow in 2010?
Mental. We had flights booked to San Francisco from Heathrow.
But could we get to Heathrow? Could we fuck.
2 planes I had booked were cancelled. It was getting expensive.
I started to panic. Then the day before the flight I managed to get
train tickets. We sat on the train looking at each other.
The man on the tannoy casually mentioned a small delay just outside
St Albans. As one we picked up our luggage and got off. It turns out
the train was delayed by 10 hours. I would have gone crazy.

We resigned ourselves to throwing £1500 down the drain.

Then, out of nowhere, the idea of driving down to London became a reality.
I was scared. There were cars stuck in snow everywhere.
But we managed to dig the car out and made our slippery way down South.
It was the scariest thing I have ever experienced.
At one point, the windscreen wipers froze and we were forced to
stop to clear the screen every 100 metres or so on the fucking motorway.

But we made it.
And our flight to San Fran was only one that made it to
San Fran out of the UK that week.
I think it was our reward for nearly killing ourselves getting there.

Blimey. Sorry. That was a very long story wasn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.