The Bright Room

By inshin

What's in a Name

This is the name of my House. The pronunciation is Fee-o-han-a. It has very great significance to me.

The name is taken from a village in West County Limerick, Ireland. I spent my summer holidays there from the age of nine to sixteen, working on the farm. I loved it and when the time came to buy my own house I wanted this to be the name, there were no alternatives.

Besides the happy memories, I always loved the meanings of the name that I was given when I was younger. You see there are two, and I enjoy telling people and advising them they can chose which ever they prefer.

1) Place of Shelter
2) Bed of Thistles

The plaque was given to me by my father as an engagement present for our first house. When we moved I took it with me and my father then gave us a second one to place at the gates to the new house. A lot of what was in the village is now gone with the only pub closing years ago, so I like to have a reminder of the good memories of my time there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.