If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Mere Sands Wood Nature Reserve.

Every couple of months or so I have to go down into Lancashire for a meeting. These are always half day meetings so I often treat myself to a wander round this reserve which is just a few miles down the road.

So today I was up and off early down a very crowded motorway. Three lanes of traffic at 35 to 40 miles an hour. Some miles down the road I found out why. A couple of huge "dumper trucks" on Low loaders taking up 2 carriageways. Arrived at the meeting on time and all went well.

After lunch I decided to visit the reserve. I wish I hadn't (but more of that later). It was dry but very gloomy. I tried a few shots fo the birds but it was really too dark for telephoto shots. Lots of Goosander, more than I have seen in one place at a time. The other bird which isn't usually there was teal again in good numbers.

So as it was beginning to get dark I headed for home. It began to rain with a high wind. Then I caught up with more traffic. Again 3 lanes at 35 - 40 mile an hour. This went on for a lot of miles and then guess what! The cause was the same. Well not earth movers this time but again 2 large vehicles taking up 2 lanes and crawling along. A one and a half hour took the best part of two and a half!

Oh nearly forgot the shot is of the visitors centre at the reserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.