Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

There were lots of things happening today for Dad at the Royal Brompton hospital. He was taken off suction this morning, which he was delighted about as it means he is now free to get up and walk around whenever he wants without calling for a nurse to detach the suction tube from the drain bottle. He made three trips to the toilet, just because he could. Then he was able to have a shower and wash his hair, which he hasn't managed for about two months since he started struggling for breath. He was so happy, it really made him feel good to be properly clean at long last. Not only that, but he walked all the way along a really long corridor to the showers. He did get a bit puffed after all that effort, so the nurse brought a wheelchair for him to get back to his bed at the other end of the ward - but it was a major achievement after being relatively inactive for 6 weeks.

Dad now has a proper appetite, and actually gets hungry for his meals. He has started ordering 3-course meals twice a day, which he wasn't doing a week ago, in addition to eating all the extra bits of food I bring in for him including dainty sandwiches with the crusts cut off so that he can swallow them more easily. It was music to my ears when he saw the dinner ladies in the corridor and said "I hope they hurry up, I'm starving" - this only an hour after eating a clementine, a fudge brownie and a cake and drinking a glass of milk. This is the Dad I know of old - always looking forward to the next meal.

To round off a good day, we were told that Dad is now being prepared to return to Colchester within the next few days, hopefully by Friday at the latest. His notes are being written up to hand over, and his cumbersome drain bottle will be replaced with a bag which will attach to the tube that Mr Jordan inserted during the surgical procedure last Friday.

I am hoping and praying that all these good signs will continue now. To see Dad's joy at the thought of going back to Essex where he can see Mum again makes all the difficulties of this week worth it. Although it is hard, I know in my heart that in years to come I will look back and know that I did all I could to help my dear Dad and Mum through this traumatic time.

When I got home I called Mum to bring her up to date with all the news. My sister went over to keep her company again today and take her out to lunch, and together they have put up all the Christmas decorations. I hope with all my heart that Dad will be home in time to celebrate it with our family.



My blipfoto is of an enormous eye-catching spherical sculpture on display in The Chelsea Gardener store, which is right next to the Royal Brompton hospital on Sydney Street. Starting price £6,000. Oh well, at least it was free to take a photo of it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.