Windowsill Collection

Things have a way of ending up on our kitchen windowsill. This assemblage seems to have assembled itself. The heart shaped rock was from a grandson. A granddaughter found the rock with crystals in it and a good friend gave me the hummingbird nests, knowing that I collect birds' nests for my Christmas tree, but they're too tiny for the tree. Who knows how the little red bird got in the nest, but it wasn't there a few days ago, so I'm guessing it was amongst the Christmas decorations that have been scattered about the house for several days now. The rock that looks like it has an egg in the middle of it has been up there since very soon after we moved in. I like the whole random thing. (My Berkeley neighbor, who is a statistician,used to tell me that this is not the correct use of the word "random", but since I have no idea what he's talking about when he explains the "real" meaning of the word, I shall continue to use it my way.)

There is a columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle who more or less free associates his way through his columns. Sometimes he writes about his cats, but many people wrote in and said they didn't like his cat columns. I thought they were hysterical. He compromised by promising to warn people at the beginning of the column that he was going to write about cats so they could choose not to read further. But then he started writing warnings cloaked in descriptions that could have been eccentric people, which made them even funnier. I think I'm free associating now. Perhaps I just don't get out enough….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.