TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

What Happened Behind Lee Corner?

After a night torn apart by rain and storm, in the morning the sun came up. The winds were dying down a bit. Clouds vanished. As I entered the beach around midday it was still rough everywhere. Sand blowing, waves tumbling, sea flooding. The colours were bright. To the South the sun was so glaring that I made several photo's in the blind.

Apart from a few walkers, some kitesurfers were playing their rough and risky play with the sea. I followed one of them from nearby. But it became clear that this was giving no good picture. Even holding my Lumix close to my breast to protect it against sandblast, it was difficult to keep stable in the wind.

Too much shaking would soon drive me back to the dunes. That was it for today. On my way back through the dunes I saw a helicopter nearby hovering over the surf. Are they searching for someone? I stood on a dunetop looking through my binoculars but I could not determine what was going on there.

Later this afternoon I learned that apparently a man had walked into the sea. He had been rescued by three bystanders...They were frozen and taken care of in the Beach hotel. The complete rescue operation had come to action by land, on sea and in the air. Only, after the citizens rescue...Oh dear, who is walking into the surf at a stormy midday when the water is about 10C?

Mischa has written a story about a certain Mr Roberts who has sand in his head, walks into the sea and meets a playful jolly seal. Sometimes reality surpasses fiction. Though in a different way fiction can have a strong liberating effect. Especially because of the meeting with a seal. For the rescuers and the rescued that effect remains to be seen. Will we ever know what was happening there behind the dune top at a stormy midday?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.