TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Deeply Inhaling the Northern Horizon

It wasn’t stormy at all! Had I misunderstood the weather forecast or what? This morning I cycled to the beach in due time. Too heavily clothed while the sun kept shining lightly. Almost no wind! It had been a long rainy night. I did not want to have rain photos. But look, the low tide scene at sea was much better than expected. Although, there was barely a bird to see. Where had they gone? Yesterday about the same hour they were busy fishing everywhere. Had they got a message that it was not worthwhile? Can you understand Gull’s behaviour?

And then I noticed that the laguna-situation was completely different from yesterday. There had been a few preformations, but the course the water streams had taken now was amazingly new. And it will go on changing next days. The storm will come - later in the evening - and have its effect, imprint on the formation of the sandbars. Now at low tide I sank into the wet sand, many times. I had to tear my booty legs out. When did this happen to me? Perhaps somewhere in the summer. It means that the sandy undergrounds are moving and streaming. New forces are going to be set in. I don’t know if I will reach the surfline tomorrow..

On the beach you learn to see that change is permanently in process. In our stone walled cities we tend to forget that. Though, with one look into the high or low sky you could know equally. We think that we in our cultural engagement are the ones who induce change. We forget nature. We forget to look right into the universe. In our existence we are form in constant formation. In that respect our desire to keep things as they are is counterfactual, like a photo: no more than a flashing still.

The weather is changing. The climate, Any natural environment I would wish to keep as it is in sustainable conservation changes with, without or counter our interventions. I am changing even going with the speeding flow of time. Even this writing is changing under my typing fingers. I don’t know what to do or say about this. Change is mightier that my efforts to change any course of events. But I definitely refuse a passivist or pessimist position. This morning at the surfline, where the waves and streams were whirling and flowing, colliding and turning around, I felt slightly dizzy. Then I looked up into the wide Northern horizon, breathed deeply and felt marvellous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.