Carol of the Drum

Well not quite......

As some of you know the building I work in had a major fire back in June and the residents started moving back into their homes in October. Our office has been back for three weeks now. To celebrate the return, the company hosted a 'party' today for the residents.

We had a male vocalist singing all the old favourites and a few Christmas carols thrown in for good measure ( the school choir that was supposed to be coming couldn't as too many of the teaching staff were off sick) , we had Bollywood dancers - incredibly colourful and very loud- and then we had Moses with his African drums ( aren't they beautiful?). He had the residents and some staff sat with a drum learning how to replicate the rhythms of Africa, and telling us how music touches the soul. I have to agree with him that it does, but I have overload of the senses this afternoon.

I sat with our oldest resident for a while - I find it hard to understand she was 3 when the First World War broke out. Another resident (93) was telling me how she was carried out of the fire, in her night gown, by a gorgeous Fireman. I am just hoping to be made a mug of Horlicks by a gorgeous retired Fireman while I finish writing the Christmas cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.