Face on the street

Our second day in India, and how can I possibly select just one picture to represent all the amazing things we have seen today?

We are in Jaipur - the "Pink City". The highlights we photographed included the Hawa Mahal (Palace of Winds) - from which the ladies of the royal household could observe the activities in the street outside without being seen, the splendid Amber Fort, the Jal Mahal (the sandstone Water Palace apparently floating in the middle of a lake), the Jantar Mantar observatory which was used for measuring the positions of stars, calculating eclipses, and telling the time using the massive sundials (accurate to within a couple of seconds). Then there is the City Palace, and the street markets, not to mention the hand-woven carpet factory which we also visited.

In due course I shall put an album of photographs on my Flickr page, but it will take quite a while to sort them out.

One of the subjects I have most enjoyed photographing here is the people. So today I give you a photograph of a man opposite the Amber Fort. One of his tasks appeared to be to prevent us from setting up tripods! Clearly there is going to be little opportunity to use tripods on this trip. I love the bright colours behind him, which for me represent the bright colours associated with Rajasthan.

Back blipped after my return to the UK as I had limited editing facilities with me and intermittent access to wifi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.