Storm

For those of you who are familiar with Santa Cruz, this is a view from Lighthouse Point, looking toward seal rock, which is underwater. It's been raining heavily and steadily since early this morning, although the awful wind has stopped and things aren't blowing around any more. It's been a long time since I could say, "The rain is coming down in sheets." And, though I am immensely grateful for the storm, I don't like it. It makes me anxious. I don't know why. I worry about things giving way, but we do not live on a hill or in the forest. The deck door leaks and I've torn up the carpet and put towels down to absorb the water. And when I went to make a fire there was a lot of water in the fireplace--I sponged up a good quart of sooty messy drippings. Even so, the anxiety is out of proportion, but there you go. I just hope everyone is driving a little slower tonight, and more carefully.

We do have a nice chicken in the oven and the house smells yummy and it is time for my third of our evening beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.