Light and wind

“My thoughts descended deeply into the light. My pulse, like a thousand bouncing marbles, filled my ears, my veins, my heart, until I thought I would burst. I would come to have this experience many times in the presence of light, and relief came only when I took a photograph.” --Deborah DeWit Marchant in Traveling Light: A Photographer’s Journey (2003).

I went out in search of dereliction for SarumStroller’s Thursday project, but I ran into a curl of light. We’re having a massive wind storm with near-Hurricane-force winds, the strongest winds recorded in Portland in 40 years. This is a heavy plastic tarpaulin meant to protect some scaffolding where workers are refurbishing a four-story apartment building. Fortunately the workers are nowhere to be seen.

I fell in love with the movement of wind and light and set my shutter at slow speed, hoping to catch some of the complexity of the movement of wind in the plastic sheeting. Each shot was different from all the others. Four more are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.