surely you can see

By petergarver

Today's picture-selection process made me think about why I blip. I didn't do much picture taking today, and this picture is actually one of a few that I took at work to print and show at the conference I'm leaving for tomorrow. There were no actually interesting pictures in my raws from today, but this one at least offered interesting tonalities when I converted it to monochrome (for day 8 of Monochrome August!).

So why do I do all of this? Well, two reasons. One is to keep myself shooting and challenge myself to shoot boring things and make interesting pictures of them, which I think is good practice. The other, and I've only realized this more recently, is to keep processing and tweaking images - to post an image here I have to take it to a sort of final form, which normally I wouldn't do to many images since I don't get many that I like. So every day I get the practice of shooting, practice of culling, and practice of post-processing. Can't hurt, can it?

My participation in this process is mostly a very personal thing, something I do to improve my eye and to record little bits of my days. Maybe it's something I'll look back at later and remember, maybe it's something my friends and family will see and feel connected with me. It's not something I do for praise, or the social networking aspect (although I do love my fellow blippers).

Anyone (of the 2-3 people who look at my little blog) care to share reasons why you do this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.