Another Day

By pcc

In Memory of my Father

It is St Patricks' day today, and it is wet and cold. I would have liked to take a photo of people celebrating in Christchurch, but I do not think I will be going to town, so as my father came from Northern Ireland I thought I would put up something about him.
He was born in Newton Stewart on 4th July 1909. At the age of 20 he decided to immigrate to NZ, where he had 2 brothers already here. He left Newton Stewart and travelled to Londonderry and then by boat to Liverpool. Then on to London where he caught a boat at the Tilburry Docks on the River Thames on the 20th July 1929. He arrived in NZ via Australia in September of that year. He never went back. He died on 5th November 1996. So Dad here is to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.