PJG844

By PJG844

Workin' On A Building

Today I got off of my unfeasibly large bottom and did something for once. And here's the proof. Top pic is before and bottom is ½ after. I'm planning to put a platform at one end of the long byre where the window is on the top right of the building but before I can start that I have to remove the hardboard and frames that are attached to the wall. There was a lot of old wallpaper on the wall to remind me of that it had been used as a home at one time so I felt a little sad as I pulled them down. But not as sad as the hundreds of spiders that I suddenly made homeless. Every minute I was saying “sorry, sorry, won't be long. But don't settle anywhere yet as there's more work to come”.

3M is so mean to me, though. When I'm in the byre (or anywhere away from the house) we use walkie-talkies to communicate, which is sensible I think. When she listens. Sorry, if she listens. Anyroad, I was quite happily pulling the hardboard down when she called me:

3M – I've made you a coffee.
Me – Oh, thank you, my sun and stars, my north and south, light of my life. I can't wait to partake of your exquisitely made beverage. I'll be over shortly. Miss you already. Mwah, mwah. ← verbatim, that is.
3M – OK. Bye.

The woman has no soul, no romance. Maybe that's why I'm crazy about her. That, and the fact she has a heart of gold. Cold and hard.

I was dreading what condition the walls would be like behind the partition but I was pleasantly surprised. They're not that bad, as it happens, and I think that can be seen in the bottom picture. The far end with the fire-place is heavily stained from peat burning but that was to be expected.

And I tidied up.

Next step is treating the wood against woodworm. Oh, joy. More expense.

Plus I've got a load of 8' by 4' hardboard to dispose of. The fun never stops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.