Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Holiday!

While packing the overnight bag for our 'holiday', we realised that Archie was nipping in and quietly unpacking it! Yes, taking out knickers and small items. He is a wee devil!

On our early morning walk we encountered icy pavements. I was not happy, so as soon as he'd done his business, we went home. I'm too afraid of falling. But this is something we'll have to get used to. It was still icy at midday when JR took him out.

We popped along to the opening of the new local cafe. Mobbed! Screaming children. Well, one little redhead (about 3 or 4) squealed her head off. On purpose. The doting parents and grandparents just smiled at her, like she was being so cute. They were oblivious to the icy glares of every single other person in the cafe. Just as well I decided not to bring Archie - he would have bitten her, and I might not have stopped him in time...

The coffee was good. The cake was good. BUT... And it's a BIG BUT... Terrible pop muzak on a silly little speaker!! Couldn't be much worse. So disappointed.

We dropped Archie off at his holiday home, and when we left, he was charging around the big garden with Alfie, his new lovely spaniel friend. He didn't even cast a glance our way as we left...

We had a wander round Peebles. Every shop had Slade wishing me a Merry Christmas, except the pub, which had a muzak free room, thank goodness.

This is the abode for the night. I found the tripod in the boot, but I really need to know the camera settings and buttons in the dark - I was stabbing a bit.

Now, a bit of a relax before dinner... I hope Archie minds his manners and remembers to 'WAIT' until he's told 'OK'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.