Simply Me

By Suze981

Lights to Remember

The charity I work for has a special Lights to Remember night where people get together to remember loved ones who have passed away. You light a candle and remember them before the Hospice Christmas lights get switched on.

I realised today that I have my own version of this. Every year I take a moment on the 12th December to think about my Dad, who died 13 years ago.

It was his birthday on the 12 December. When we were little we would always have his birthday before putting up the Christmas decorations on the 13th. I've always stuck to that and I think I probably always will.

Death comes to us all. The key to immortality is leaving behind someone that loved and remembers us. I hope I'm that fortunate when my time comes.

Anyway, here's to my Dad, Fred.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.