Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Village

The wife has gone to the Country Club to get a swim in before we set off to visit friends for the night, in the Cotswolds.

It was probably the coldest night of the year here last night, so I'm going to make sure I cover the outdoor tap before we leave. The sun is shining at the moment and melted all the ice. I think it was -2c. No doubt it'll get worse before the winter is out. I'm hoping for some snow as I think aerial shots of snow will be superb.

The blip picture is of my village. My house is out of the picture which shows the River Rhymney, and it's within spitting distance. Luckily we have never been flooded as the estate was 'built up' from the river before house building started. Oddly, the houses that have flooded have been well away from the river - they have been houses where the water has run down from the mountain through gardens into the houses!

Some insurance companies have refused to insure us as we are within 200 metres of water. Our insurance is up on 31st and I just found another insurance company (Sainsburys) which is cheaper, covers more with their premium policy, and will give me £30 of Sainsburys vouchers. The old company (Direct Line) wanted £25 more than we paid last year and we haven't claimed! There's no loyalty to customers - they hope you'll automatically renew - but they'd make more by rewarding loyalty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.