My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

Marin joulukalenteri, 13th door

We Finns count down the 24 days before Christmas by using Advent Calendars.
I haven't got one for myself this year, so I decided open my own Advent Calendar here in Blip.
So today I open another door of Marin Joulukalenteri:


The girl in the photo is representing Santa Lucia.
Lucy's feast is on 13 December. Her feast once coincided with the Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year before calendar reforms, so her feast day has become a festival of light.

This is particularly seen the in Scandinavian countries, with their long dark winters. There, a young girl dressed in a white dress and a red sash (as the symbol of martyrdom) and wears a crown or wreath of candles on her head. It is said that to vividly celebrate St. Lucy's Day will help one live the long winter days with enough light.

I went to enjoy Saint Lucia's Day festivities to Johannes Church today evening. My Girl were singing there with her School's Choir. It was beautiful.

Thank you for commenting my yesterday's flower arrangement. I had to delete that blip, because I had small error with date and time of the photo. At first choice was the last photo in memory card and just today I notice it had wrong date since I haven't adjust my camera clock due winter daytime savier change.
Now I changed one simple photo there. You can see your self our chaotic home. It was already better situation, both new shelves were up and we were almost ready to call out that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.