My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

13th door

We Finns count down the 24 days before Christmas by using Advent Calendars.
I haven't got one for myself this year, so I decided open my own Advent Calendar here in Blip. 
So today I open another door of Marin Joulukalenteri:


The girl in the photo is part of  Santa Lucia festivities.
Lucy's feast is on 13 December. Her feast once coincided with the Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year before calendar reforms, so her feast day has become a festival of light.

This is particularly seen the in Scandinavian countries, with their long dark winters. There, a young girl dressed in a white dress and a red sash (as the symbol of martyrdom) and wears a crown or wreath of candles on her head. It is said that to vividly celebrate St. Lucy's Day will help one live the long winter days with enough light.


Today I watched two different Saint Lucia cortege. First outside at Christmas Market and then later at church in the evening. 
The reason of course was MyGirl who sing there with school choir.


you can spot her from extra, from back line.
At second extra you can see Saint Lucia and her cortege.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.