Lurking With Intent

I came across this female lynx spider feasting on a tiny native solitary bee. In the background was a male lynx spider lurking on tip toes. What was his intention? Was it a shared lunch? Or did he have something else in mind? Whatever it was he was unsuccessful. She was not interested in company just then.

Lynx spiders, Oxyopes gracilipes, New Zealand native. A closer look.

When I looked out at 5.30 this morning the clouds looked more bland than usual, but a second look at the dawn sky proved that there were no clouds at all! I went outside to have a proper look. There was the moon and even the mountains, and later the sky turned blue. After ten days of low cloud, (except the day I went to Christchurch when the clouds were high), blue sky and sunshine is a real novelty. Up to yesterday we have had less than half the average number of sunshine hours for that period.

What a difference the sunshine makes. Gone is the sleepiness that has hampered me lately.  And three layers of clothing that also hampered me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.