Preacher Man - Green Velvet

Lots on today, headed up near Bristo for a meeting which ended up cancelled. It did mean that on the way back into town I saw this guy evangelising to an almost completely disinterested audience. There were a pile of students and skaters paying him absolutely no attention at all. In fact when I first arrived, apart from me with my camera the only person paying him any attention was the guy in the blue top who may or may not have been drunk but started hollering a string of obscenities at him. When he questioned the guy's bad language and suggested it was because he "wasn't right with god" the guy went charging over to challenge him. I was a wee bit worried it might turn nasty but thankfully not.

A very short while later two drunk students in those ridiculous Guinness hats showed up and started arguing with him about the futility of his beliefs. Now while I personally am not interested in religion in any way it did amuse me slightly that these guys failed to see the irony of arguing with him regarding the existence of god whilst looking daft in the name of celebrating St. Patrick's day.

I have to admit that my patience ran out when he started accusing the whole crowd of worshipping skateboards rather than god. I was almost tempted to go over to point out that since the bulk of his, largely disinterested, audience were ate Edinburgh Uni it was far more likely to be Mammon they were worshipping if anything.

Still you can't question the guy's commitment to his faith, I wonder how many others would have the commitment to persevere when their intended flock is a crowd of utterly disinterested skaters and students, a ranting jakey and two trumpets in Guinness hats.

Here's today's classic track.

Happy Diageo day to one and all....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.