Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Back at the bathing pool AGAIN!

A few people have asked me recently why I used a particular setting. My answer used to be that my camera was set at the widest aperture and ISO 100 so the camera had to find a shutter speed that worked. It had dawned on me a few weeks ago that if I wanted to take photographs inside churches that it wasn't going to happen unless I whacked up the ISO and that sometimes I'd need to up the f number to get enough depth of field. But I had a light bulb moment today and realised that my camera was doing its best to do what it's supposed to do which is basically get mid grey tones and if I didn't want conventionally mid toned pics that I should be on manual and select my own shutter speed...

So I thought my favourite bathing pool was the place to try out my first manual pic. It took me ages to find a gap in the showers and still it started to rain twice as I walked to the bathing pools but it stopped when I got there. The tide was just as I hoped but it wasn't as calm as I would have liked but never mind I was here to try out different shutter speeds. Except that when I looked at the menu I couldn't find how to adjust the shutter speed! The clouds looked very threatening so I took a few pics and headed home to download the camera manual. I now know how to adjust the shutter speed so will try again tomorrow.

And I realise that this photograph would have been very much improved with a long exposure so that I would have soft water lapping over the concrete but of course I didn't have a tripod with me... And yes I should have but its a fair walk and I had to pick up shopping on my way back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.