In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

ROTKÄPPCHEN

This Little Red Riding-hood is one of two surviving ceramic items that my parents bought in Europe about 50 years ago.
I'll take blips of the second one another day. The two that did not survive were Hansel and Gretel, and Sleeping Beauty.
This is the close up, so you can see the detail the artist put in the wrapped bottle in a basket, the tongue and eyes of the wolf and Little Red Riding-hood as she puts her hand on the bed-sheets in concern for her supposed Granny. The backside has the wolf's tail sticking out from the bed-sheets and Granny's pair of bed slippers under the bed.
I also took another close-up that was a little further out so you could see the finials on top of the bed curtains, and the spelling carved into the base, but silly me, I did not clean off the dust or the one husky hair that got snagged behind the plate of goodies and the bottle basket, and although it was nicely focused, ALL I could see was that stupid hair blur!  Of course, all the subsequent blips cut something out, or didn't make me happy.
Do you even want me to blip the backside tomorrow? It is actually quite dull.
I think these were made in Austria as my daughter could not find them when she was on holiday in Germany, and both countries use the same alphabet style.
I really wanted to replace Hansel and Gretel and Sleeping Beauty.  I think these would still make a great tourist item and can't image that they aren't made anymore.  I guess I will have to be happy with the ones I do have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.