Look Out

By chrisf

St Ives

We returned home this morning. Rapid change-over, and I then went to work this afternoon.

Travelling days are not good for blips. So .......

This is a picture I have been familiar with from when I was a small child (which is a very very long time ago).

It sits on my Mum and Dad's living room wall, and is of St Ives where they honeymooned in 1953. Dad bought it in a year when a holiday could not be afforded - so this painting of the sea-side was the nearest we got that year.

To me it is the best picture of the sea-side I know, no doubt because of all the associations. Dad bought it in Stevenage, it is a mouth painting by a disabled painter called David Chick (he signed it )of whom I know absolutely nothing. But I love the scene, and the textures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.