But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Lums-dun.

I used to pass this shop on the way to work and, until recently the name over the window was "Lums-dun," I assume that the proprietor was a Mr. Lumsdon (or Lumsden). The main business now seems to be run from Livingston, about 15 miles away. Quite rightly, coal fires are now, largely, a thing of the past so I don't imagine that the business has much trade left.

Trading names and slogans in the area have caused me amusement over the years: there were the shoe shop that offered a "supper selection" for many years; the Omar Khayyam wine shop (I always wanted to go in and ask for a tent) and then there was Carsewell's, a tailor's that offered "lady's and gent's alterations“, a thought which brought tears to my eyes.

The thought has occurred to me that facts related to the above may be that McEwan's, arguably the best brewery in Scotland, and “The Athletic Arms," known locally as "The Gravedigger's" (usually abbreviated to just "The Digger's" and selling the best McEwan's ale in Scotland) also had premises in the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.