Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Seen better days

The plaster cast is proving uncomfortable and much more restrictive than the velcro-fastened wrist brace the hospital fitted after surgery. I've been given a contact number for the 'plaster room', and I'll see if something can be done to improve things tomorrow. Discomfort with the plaster caused a restless night, so I made up for that by not getting up until midday. Both Derek and Alan visited, which filled my afternoon until almost 5.00.

I bussed down to Fairview and spent a while around Marino Crescent. Bram Stoker (author of Dracula) is reputed to have been born at no. 15, and there's even a story to the effect that the Russian Crown Jewels were hidden behind a loose brick in the kitchen fire place in that same house during the Russian Revolution. None of that concerned me as I struggled one-handedly with the camera, though. I'm sure this crescent of Georgian houses was very imposing in its time, but many of them are rather sad-looking, run-down and decrepit now. In particular, the first in the row coming from the Malahide Road is in a very sorry state, deserted, ripped apart -- but still very photogenic even in this condition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.