Recovery

Surgery lasted two and a half hours this morning. Mom has this gigantic collar on.. seriously, who can wear those? It makes her look even tinier. She's in a lot of pain, but the doctor said it was a success! He was able to fuse her 3rd/4th and 5th/6th vertebrae together (as I understand it) and prevent her bone from impinging on her nerve. When she has recovered, she should not be in the constant pain that she has been in for the past .. what.. 30 years?
She's been moving around a lot which doesn't look comfortable. She'll be released from the hospital tomorrow morning (Thursday). She's got a lot of pain killers and muscle relaxers to get her through today. My poor little mama.

Having spent most of the day sleeping in the hospital waiting room, I forgot it was St. Patrick's Day.
Four years ago today, Barry, Julie & I were in Dublin - drinking a pint of Guinness at the Guinness Brewery. What a freezing, wonderful, expensive day. I wish I could find my photos from that trip. Maybe they're on my external hard drive.
So Happy St. Patrick's Day.. drink a pint of Guinness for me.
Cheers, Bliplandia

Backblip: Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.