Oh, Saint Patrick

Kidnapped and sold as a slave. That's how he got to Ireland in the first place, eh?

Thank you for that trivia, QRANK. I'm happy that I got it right in today's daily quiz. (If you like daily trivia, download the app for your iPhone. Thank you to Steph and Justin for the heads up over New Year's. Mike and I are addicted, thankyouverymuch.)

One year ago today, my mom was in the hospital having just had her surgery. Thank the Lord, it was a success. I still remember the drive home from Houston. My dad stayed with my mom and I listened to Mumford & Sons and sang while I cried the entire drive home. I was extremely emotional. I had been praying heavily about something that was weighing down my heart for a long time. I had finally gotten the answer.
I was thinking the other day how I probably shouldn't listen to music when I'm sad. Inevitably, whatever I listen to during those moments haunts me later when I hear the music again. I much prefer the music I listen to when I'm ecstatic.. it has the similar effect of reproducing thoughts of joy and elation.
I've been wondering why I'm so angry all of the time lately. I'm hoping that the endorphins will help from all of the bootcamping we're doing as of late. I know what the problem is today.. but I feel like I've been carrying around a lot of bitterness with me for the past few months.
Being the season of Lent.. I need to work through it and come out on the other side of this mountain. I can't escape to the past moments of joy. I need to find the next moment of joy on this timeline. And be there wholeheartedly, without reservation or exception.

I need a moment. Not for myself. I take a lot of those as it is. They don't get me anywhere. I need a place of stillness, calm, peace that is not my own.

I've finally given in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.