La vida de Annie

By Annie

Taxman

Another in an occasional series of Beatles song titles. The video is worth a look if only for footage of the late great George Harrison and a bit of nifty strumming from Eric Clapton.

This is inspired on this miserable rainy day by the sight of the Harold Wilson statue in the shopping centre in Huyton, his old constituency. For me his greatest achievement was the founding of the Open University, a great institution. I was especially drawn to the unflattering drip on the end of his nose, and was trying to line up a shot to give it the most prominence when a local wag strolled past and said "D'ya know he's got a dew drop on his nose luv? Shall I wipe it off for ya?". I didn't know he was held in such reverence; few people are in that neck of the woods.


Let me tell you how it will be,
There's one for you, nineteen for me,
'Cause I'm the Taxman,
Yeah, I'm the Taxman.
Should five per cent appear too small,
Be thankful I don't take it all.
'Cos I'm the Taxman,
Yeah, I'm the Taxman.

(If you drive a car ), I'll tax the street,
(If you try to sit ), I'll tax your seat,
(If you get too cold ), I'll tax the heat,
(If you take a walk ), I'll tax your feet.
Taxman.

'Cause I'm the Taxman,
Yeah, I'm the Taxman.
Don't ask me what I want it for
(Taxman! Mister Wilson!)
If you don't want to pay some more
(Taxman! Mister Heath!),
'Cause I'm the Taxman,
Yeah, I'm the Taxman.

Now my advice for those who die, (Taxman!)
Declare the pennies on your eyes, (Taxman!)
'Cause I'm the Taxman,
Yeah, I'm the Taxman.
And you're working for no-one but me,
(Taxman).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.