Roidage:Back to the Seventies

The plan today was too shoot loads of images outside in the glorious Teutonic countryside but I didn't count on the rain and then the rain and then a shed load more of the stuff. Unabated and determined to have a big photography day I decided to go all retro and return to the Recycling Boerse to buy more Roid-type cameras.. For the princely sum of 10 euros I came away with the following; a massive and impressive Kodak EK-160-EF that takes the mystic film PR144-10 ( a search this afternoon revealed that the most current film available for purchase from ebay expired in May 1986). For my Ten Spot I also obtained three more Polaroid Land Cameras; SX-70 1000, SX-70 2000, and an Impulse AF600.
Returning home I was messing with the Impulse and to my joy it appeared to fire up and be loaded with film.No idea how long it had been in there.. decades perhaps.. I quickly attached the camera to my monopod and paced into the lounge and took a quick shot of my daughter and wife(see above).. The magic returned for the three of us as we marvelled at the beautifully slow and gradual arrival of the image..Poppy's first polaroid and brought back memories of my grandparents and my own childhood.(what you see above is the polaroid on my lightbox shot by my D2X )... This inspired me so much that I went to the local photography store and bought a three pack of 600 film and ordered some SX-70 Blend from the internet...
Total cost of film(50 exposures in all) = 70 Euros.
Total cost for the four Polaroid and one Kodak cameras = 15 Euros.

Now... that's what I call entertainment on a very rainy day.. I hope to shoot and then upload more Roids in the weeks to come..

Has anyone shot 600 on the SX-70's if so how bad is the over exposure issue? (I don't presently have inclination to start modifying the filter with clear plastic from a CD cover, etc).. Anyone know of any straight out of camera online image samples?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.