a town called E.

By Eej

Defining

There's no doubt that everyone has defining moments. Some of them are only recognisable as defining after the fact, looking back after months or years, and some are stand-still light-bulb moments right as they are happening.

In 2005 my life was in shambles. I'll just leave it at that :)

My saving grace was the internet. That may sound odd to some people, but I'm pretty sure die-hard Blippers are well aware of the fact how wonderful on-line communities can be :)
My community was a website dedicated to a man whose music did the most wonderful things to my soul. His name is Ryan Adams*. While discussing his music and other far more random things with strangers across the world I found these 4 women who rapidly became my best friends. One in Ireland, two in the south of England, one in Northumberland.
In June of 2005 I set out to meet them. There was a glorious picnic in London the weekend before my birthday where we all met up and spend hours just talking and talking, and then some more talking.

The evening before my birthday the two Brighton gals (and a wee jr.) and me took a train to Salisbury, and then a bus to where we'd spent the night in a field to watch the sun come up over Stonehenge on the most wonderful day of the year; the summer solstice. And yes, that also happens to be my birthday :)

There were far too many 'ravers' there, and we couldn't find the hippies who'd most likely have treated the majesticness with a bit more respect, but the moment the sun hit the standing stones was breathtaking. Literally.

And I realised that I was going to be fine. That I was strong enough. And good enough. No matter what other people thought of me.

I'm thankful for that day, as well as for the days before and after. Still, and always.




*Ryan Adams is also responsible for me meeting the Beloved, but that's a story for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.