Blipping Along

By BlippingAlong

The Old Shophouses

Development and change happens at a phenomenal pace here... buildings seem to appear from nowhere while old favourites suddenly disappear. I usually spend the first few days after I arrive looking for landmarks from my childhood and once I've found an old friend or two, I start to feel much better as I can start to relate to the place once again.

This row of shophouses must be some of the oldest in town... they've changed ownership over the years and very little has been done to renovate them. These single storey buildings, and the two storey ones where the shopkeeper used to live with his family on the first floor, were commonplace while I was growing up. Now, we're in the 21st century and like most places around the world we have a McDonalds, KFC and even a Starbucks!

By the way, if you're wondering, this is where I am

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.