Blipping Along

By BlippingAlong

Old and new traditions

Basket weaving, as with a lot of places, is an old tradition in these parts. Unfortunately its becoming harder to find baskets made of rattan or cane, it seems that plastic is taking over the world. However, it means that the traditions continue and now in the market you'll find wonderfully colourful baskets.

I spotted these baskets in the local market, together with a plethora of wonderfully rich fruit and vegetables, handicrafts made by the local Ibans (one of the indigenious tribes of Sarawak), all beautifully displayed ...the supermarkets could learn a trick or two here. I also like to contrast of the recycled plastic sacking for the straps - nothing gets thrown away, there's always a use for something!

Thank you for your kind comments about the last few days blips - I'm glad you're enjoying them. I've discovered that the wifi card that I've brought from the local hotel gives me 24 hours access over a 90 day period, not access over a 24 hour period as I first thought. This means I should be able to blip each day... And I'm planning to put the rest of the photos up on flickr - link to follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.