diaspora

By diaspora

Reality check

Following a very relaxing and enjoyable day yesterday Ms. D and I woke to discover someone had broken into our car and that the police had - very thoughtfully - left a "Theft Ex Car" form on the dashboard for us to complete.

The galling thing is I reckon it happened because I forgot to take my little Velbon Mini tripod from the back seat of the car after last night's blip. They took the tripod (doubt they would get 10 bucks for it) but obviously rummaged around the rest of the car looking for the camera. Thankfully, I'm not completely stupid.

The insurance company will pay for the window repair without it affecting our excess. The car is otherwise okay, and it's just a second-hand, ex car-hire, 1997 Toyota Camry station wagon. I wanted a new tripod anyway. And no one was hurt. So it's no big deal. But it did make me think we've been getting a little too relaxed in paradise. Just because we live in a cul-de-sac in Island Bay doesn't mean we're immune from crime.

Time for a wee bit more Glaswegian paranoia I think ;-)

I was going to call this shot "Crime Scene" but "Reality Check" is a probably more apt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.